

Le Sueur County, MN

Thursday, November 10, 2016 Regular session

Item 4

Planning and Zoning Ordinance Amendment

Staff Contact: Kathy Brockway or Michelle Mettler

SECTION 25. ADMINISTRATION/PLANNING COMMISSION

SUBDIVISION 1. COUNTY PLANNING AND ZONING ADMINISTRATOR

- A. The office of the County Planning and Zoning Administrator is hereby established, for which the Board of County Commissioners may appoint an Administrator and such other personnel necessary to discharge the duties of the Department.
- B. The duties of the Department shall include the following:
 - 1. Be in direct administration of the Zoning Ordinance, Shoreland Regulations, Flood Plain Regulations, Feedlot Regulations, Subsurface Sewage Treatment System Regulations, and the Subdivision Ordinance.
 - 2. Enforcement of the Zoning Ordinance. If the Department finds a violation of the provisions of this Ordinance they shall notify the person responsible for such violation in accordance with the procedures stated in this Ordinance.
 - 3. Issue zoning permits and any other permits as required by the terms of this Ordinance.
 - 4. Receive and forward all applications, documents and actions to the Board of County Commissioners, Planning Commission, Board of Adjustment and other appropriate agencies as required or appropriate by State of Minnesota Statutes.
 - 5. Keep or supervise the keeping of all necessary records.
 - 6. Act as secretary to the Board of Adjustment and also act as advisor to the Planning Commission.
 - 7. Provide and maintain a public information bureau relative to matters of the Zoning Ordinance, Shoreland Regulations, Flood Plain Regulations, Feedlot Regulations, Subsurface Sewage Treatment System Regulations, and the Subdivision Ordinance.
 - 8. Report on a regular basis to the Board of County Commissioners the recommendations, findings and decisions of the Planning Commission, boards and committees for final action where necessary.

SUBDIVISION 2. PLANNING COMMISSION

- A. The Board of County Commissioners hereby establishes the Planning Commission. Such Planning Commission shall consist of eleven (11) seven (7) members appointed by the Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners and ratified by the Board of County Commissioners.
- B. No more than four (4) members shall be residents of the incorporated communities of Le Sueur County.

10-13-16 25-1

- C. The term of each member shall coincide with the term of the Commissioners District in which they represent.
- D. Each member may be eligible for reappointment at the discretion of the Board of County Commissioners.
- E. No more than one (1) voting member of the Planning Commission shall be an officer or employee of the County.
- F. The Board of County Commissioners may designate any county officer or employee as an ex officio member of the Planning Commission.
- G. The Board of County Commissioners may call for the removal of any Planning Commission member for non-performance of duty or misconduct in office.
- H. Should any vacancy occur among the members of this Planning Commission by reason of death, resignation, disability or otherwise, immediate notice thereof shall be given to the Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners by the Department. Should any vacancy occur among the members of the Planning Commission, the vacancy shall be filled in accordance with the bylaws of this Subdivision, such member to serve the unexpired term of the office in which such vacancy shall occur.
- I. The members of the Planning Commission may be compensated in an amount as determined by the Board of County Commissioners
- J. The Board of County Commissioners may assign additional duties and responsibilities to the Planning Commission by this Ordinance. The Planning Commission may also be required to review or develop any comprehensive plans or official controls which will aid in the future planning and development within the County, upon the direction of the Board of County Commissioners.

10-13-16 25-2