## City of Scottsbluff, Nebraska

Monday, October 9, 2023 Regular Meeting

Item Appr. Min.1

**September 11, 2023** 

**Staff Contact:** 

PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING September 11, 2023 SCOTTSBLUFF, NEBRASKA

The Planning Commission for the City of Scottsbluff met in regular scheduled meeting on Monday, September 11, 2023 at 6:00 PM in the Scottsbluff City Council Chambers at 2525 Circle Drive, Scottsbluff, Nebraska. A notice of the meeting was published in the Star-Herald, a newspaper of general circulation in the city, on August 31, 2023. The notice stated the date, time, and location of the meeting, that the meeting was open to the public, and that anyone with a disability desiring reasonable accommodation to attend should contact the Development Services office. An agenda was kept current and available for public inspection at the Development Services office, provided the Planning Commission can modify the agenda at the meeting if it is determined that an emergency so required. A copy of the agenda packet was delivered to each Planning Commission member.

- Chair Becky Estrada called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM. Roll call consisted of the following members being present, Becky Estrada, Dave Gompert, Angie Aguallo, Jim Zitterkopf, Kendal Palu, Jerry Stricker, Callan Wayman "Absent": Dana Weber, Henry Huber. "Excused": Linda Redfern (alternate) City Officials present were Zachary Glaubius, Development Services Director, Taylor Stephens, GIS Analyst, and Gary Batt, Code Administrator II.
- 2 Estrada informed those present of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act and that a copy was located on the south wall of the Council Chambers.
- Acknowledgement of any changes in the agenda: None.
- 4 Business not on the agenda: None.
- The minutes from the July 10, 2023 meeting were reviewed. **Conclusion:** a motion was made by Wayman and seconded by Stricker to approve the minutes from July 10, 2023 meeting. "Yeas:" Becky Estrada, Jim Zitterkopf, Angie Aguallo, Dave Gompert, Jerry Stricker, Callan Wayman. "Nays:" None "Absent": Dana Weber, Henry Huber. The motion carried.
- Estrada introduced Item 6A regarding a public hearing to consider the creation of an Agricultural Estate Dwelling Site situated in the Southwest Quarter of Section 20, Township 22 North, Range 54 West of the 6<sup>th</sup> PM, commonly identified as 240336. Estrada opened the public hearing at 6:02 PM. Glaubius stated this request was by Bryan Frank and the application meets all the requirements of code. Glaubius stated this AEDS was unique as it was an interior section type AEDS. Glaubius stated this required the AEDS to have a 25' access easement to a public road since it did not have 150 feet of road frontage. Glaubius stated the intent of the AEDS was to sell the farmstead and retain the farm ground. Glaubius stated staff recommends a positive recommendation on approval. Dustin Beaudette with MC Schaff spoke to the Planning Commission. He stated he represented the applicant and would answer any questions. Estrada closed the public hearing at 6:03 PM. Wayman inquired the intent of the access easement was to provide a lane to the property, and stated a lane was more or less located on the easement. Beaudette stated the easement will allow the Franks to continue to farm.
- 7 **Conclusion:** Motion by Stricker to make a positive recommendation on the approval of the AEDS application, seconded by Wayman. "Yeas:" Becky Estrada, Jim Zitterkopf, Angie Aguallo, Dave Gompert, Jerry Stricker, Callan Wayman. "Nays:" None "Absent": Dana Weber, Henry Huber. The motion carried. The motion carried.

- 8 Estrada introduced Item 7 regarding staff reports. Glaubius provided an update on the zoning code revisions. Glaubius stated some definitions and other articles were amended. Glaubius stated staff was considering the creation of some new zoning districts.
- 9 Item 8: Planning Commission confirmed the next meeting date of October 9, 2023.
- 10 Item 9: Adjournment
- 11 Adjournment: Motion by Stricker, seconded by Palu to adjourn meeting at 6:07 PM. "Yeas:" Becky Estrada, Jim Zitterkopf, Angie Aguallo, Dave Gompert, Jerry Stricker, Callan Wayman. "Nays:" None "Absent": Dana Weber, Henry Huber. The motion carried. The motion carried.

Becky Estrada, Chairperson
Zachary Glaubius, Secretary