

# **City of Grand Island**

## Tuesday, January 27, 2009 Council Session

### Item C1

#### **Recognition of StormReady Community**

The Grand Island/Hall County Emergency Management Department is proud to announce it has completed necessary steps to recertify as a StormReady community through the National Weather Service in Hastings.

To help Americans guard against the ravages of severe weather, NOAA's National Weather Service has designed StormReady, a program aimed at preparing cities, counties and towns across the nation with the communication and safety tools necessary to save lives and property. To qualify, communities must complete a series of preparations that help educate, inform, warn, and collect information from the public regarding severe weather. No community is storm proof, but StormReady can help communities save lives.

Communities like Grand Island that successfully complete this evaluation are designated StormReady for three years. Other StormReady communities in South Central Nebraska include Cairo, Axtell, Ravenna, Kearney County, and Adams County.

**Staff Contact: Jon Rosenlund** 

City of Grand Island City Council





#### **Grand Island Receives StormReady Recertification**

The Grand Island/Hall County Emergency Management Department is proud to announce it has completed necessary steps to recertify as a **StormReady** community through the National Weather Service in Hastings.

To help Americans guard against the ravages of severe weather, NOAA's National Weather Service has designed **StormReady**, a program aimed at preparing cities, counties and towns across the nation with the communication and safety tools necessary to save lives and property. To qualify, communities must complete a series of preparations that help educate, inform, warn, and collect information from the public regarding severe weather. No community is storm proof, but **StormReady** can help communities save lives.

Communities like Grand Island that successfully complete this evaluation are designated **StormReady** for three years. Other **StormReady** communities in South Central Nebraska include Cairo, Axtell, Ravenna, Kearney County, and Adams County.